Not Your Wife

Posted: August 11, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

image

I am not your wife
I don’t want to be your wife
Not this year nor in this llife
But we shall live under the same roof
And sleep in one warm bed
Feeling the warmth of our bodies
And the pleasure that love-making spreads.
I don’t want to be the wife that
I have come to know by reading fictions and novels
But the lover who is always desirable.
I don’t want to be the one who seems dull and pale
to the husband who loses interest in her
I want to be that body he craves for in the time’s spur
I don’t want to be your wife my man
But we shall have children together
A family we shall have but I only be a lover.
I can’t be your wife but an immortal seductive lover
I wish not to grow old, I will be young forever
Let the man inside you find me new
Each time he explores my body
I can not be rejected just for the the pleasure of a man’s body.

Comments
  1. iku2e says:

    if not wife? interesting poem..if not then who? lover?…just lover?

    • Priya Pareek says:

      I am glad you raised this question which suggests you didn’t just read the poem but tried to know it too. Not your wife means that she rejects the role of a conventional, stereotypical wife who can be oppressed and even replaced with a lover. She is a soulmate, and eqaul to man in this marriage if not superior.

Leave a Reply

